Have An Account?
Sign In
  New User?
Subscribe For Healthy Tips

Water Polo

Related Links (Hot Topics, Top Stories, Videos) :
Sports And Activities > Sports And Activities A-Z > Water Polo > Water Polo Leagues and Events

Sport and Activities Leagues and Events
Photographer: Rasmus Thomsen

Men's water polo at the Olympics was the first team sport introduced at the 1900 games, along with cricket, rugby, football, polo (with horses), rowing and tug of war. Women's water polo became an Olympic sport at the 2000 Sydney Olympic Games after political protests from the Australian women's team.

Every 2 to 4 years since 1973, a men's Water Polo World Championship is organized within the FINA (Federation Internationale de Natation Association) World Aquatics Championships. Women's water polo was added in 1986. A second tournament series, the FINA Water Polo World Cup, has been held every other year since 1979. In 2002, FINA organized the sport's first international league, the FINA Water Polo World League. There is also a European Water Polo Championship that is held every other year.
Professional water polo is played in many southern and eastern European countries with the LEN Euroleague tournament played amongst the best teams. Other Championships in water polo include:

  • NCAA Men's Water Polo Championship
  • NCAA Women's Water Polo Championship
  • U.S. Intercollegiate Women's Water Polo Championship (pre-NCAA)

Living a Healthy Lifestyle
Home | About us | Top Stories | Hot Topics | Visit our store | Videos | Blog | Discussion Forum | Contact us | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2017. FITTODO.COM, All Rights Reserved Powered By PamTen