Gluten is a protein that’s found in wheat, kamut, spelt, barley, rye and malt. It’s also found in maltodextrine, dextrin and dextrose. A gluten free diet benefits those with celiac disease or gluten allergies. To avoid eating gluten, do not eat foods containing barley, bulgur, durham, farina, graham flour, kamut, matzo meal, rye, semolina, spelt, triticale or wheat.
There are other options, but avoid them unless it specifically says on the label that they are indeed gluten free. You may be able to find gluten free beers, breads, candies, cakes, pies, cereals, cookies, crackers, croutons, gravies, imitation meats or seafood, oats, pastas, processed lunchmeats, salad dressings, sauces, soy sauce and soups.
Be aware of products that you put in your mouth that may contain gluten, such as lipstick, lip gloss/balms, and toothpaste. Grains and starches that are allowed in a gluten free diet include amaranth, arrowroot, buckwheat, corn, cornmeal, gluten-free flours such as rice, soy, corn, potato and bean, hominy grits, polenta, pure corn tortillas, quinoa, rice and tapioca.
Other gluten free foods include fresh meats, fish and poultry (not breaded, batter-coated or marinated), fruits, most dairy products, potatoes, rice, vegetables, wine, distilled liquor, ciders and spirits. Be sure to check all labels to make sure the products weren’t manufactured at a company that uses machines to process gluten. Since many grains are enriched with vitamins, when avoiding grains, be sure to see a dietician to make sure you are getting enough of the following: iron, calcium, fiber, thiamin, riboflavin, niacin and folate.